Eye of the Panther S1 E5 Kindness for the Unkind

Listen to the Audio Drama Version of this episode by pressing the “play” button above! (or subscribe to the “Eye of the Panther” podcast on Spotify or Anchor).

Colonel Jack Shepherd

I need that amulet.

Little pinpricks spread across my face, droplets of water rolling down my cheeks. My hands were covered in the moisture. My head pounded and the pain in my legs radiated with each step, even still I kept up a decent pace. I hate unicorns. I hate rain. I’m beginning to hate this amulet!

I looked over my shoulder to see the kid grab hold and swing on every branch he could reach, from his shortness, once in a while he would stop to catch his breath and chat with the birds. Like literally “talk” in the bird’s native language. I shook my head and continued southwest. The Worms prohibited me from going directly south or west, especially now since I have a young kid to think about. And the Golden King’s army of Guppies prevented me from going anywhere near the east. I sighed. I wish I still had my blades. But even if I did make it back to Dafthion there was still the problem as to what to do with the kid.

I looked back at the boy who must have grown tired of swinging so instead he grabbed the red leaves on the ground and stuffed them in his black vest pocket. His black hair, though wet, was perfectly combed, not a hair out of place. Gray and brown squirrels ran around his feet and the boy squealed with delight, his long fox-like ears standing straight up and his large green eyes twinkling. The boy’s eyes met mine and I quickly turned around, closing my eyes. I tried not to imagine what would happen to him after I gave him to the Black King. He would have a slow death for sure. But what was I to do? It was prophesied that I would have the amulet and end the war. It made this deed even worse that the boy followed me willingly.

Maybe the king would spare the boy’s life if he learned that only the boy could use the amulet. It would be a slim chance and I was probably grasping at straws, but that’s plan B. Plan A is to get the boy to actually give me the amulet. For all I know, he could be lying about being the only one able to use it. For all I know, he could’ve put an enchantment on the stupid little necklace to keep others from touching it.

I knew that Ghost would handle the situation differently. But I’m not Ghost, so I’m going to deal with this my way.

“Hey Junior,” I called when I noticed he was slacking, a small ways behind me, patting one of the squirrels. I frowned. Should I allow him to pet those creatures? If one did turn out to be vicious or eat him for supper, at least my job at getting the amulet from him would be easier. Then again, there will be a mess I would have to sort through.

He looked at me and his ears lowered slightly at the sound of the new name I gave him. Seriously though? Who would name their kid “Hunga”? Despite this, he bounced up and ran over to me.

Once at my side he looked up at me and smiled. I almost couldn’t stomach it. This kid was never part of the plan. “Yes, Colonel?” He politely asked. At least he remembered to show respect as I commanded. Actually, except giving me the amulet the kid has done a pretty good job at obeying me.

“Tell me about your amulet.”

He frowned at me and stopped walking entirely. “What do you want to know?”

I thought for a moment. What could I learn from him that would somehow get the amulet in my hands? “How did it come into your possession?”

He scrunched up his nose and took a perfect red leaf out of his vest’s pocket, staring at the veins of the leaf. “Father gave it to me. Mother made me wear it.”

Hmm, this might have potential. Perhaps. “Where are your parents now?”

The boy looked at me, his eyes glazed over and looked very distant. He jumped out of his trance and ran past me, brushing against my leg, causing pain to shoot up it. He hopped into a puddle next to me, water splashing everywhere.

“Hey!” I yelped.

“I’m tired and hungry!” The boy complained, soaking wet. Our conversation, forgotten. “It will be dark soon anyway. Shouldn’t we stop for the night?” The boy seemed to beg with his bright green eyes.

My eyes narrowed at the thought, and anger boiled inside me. The boy ate too much of my food to begin with and there is not much to forage this time of year. Not this close to winter. The temperature has yet to go below freezing, but it is only a matter of time. And I want to put as much distance from the Worms and Guppies as I can. I looked towards the sun that was far behind the trees. “We still have a couple more hours of sunlight left. We can keep going.”

The boy glared at me and laid down in the mud. “You’re injured, you should rest. Plus, I’m not moving. I’m tired, I had enough for today.” He put his arms behind his head to cushion it.

I rolled my eyes and looked at the bright pink sky. Why? Why me?

I stomped over to him, the mud coating my fine boots. I grabbed the boy’s thin arms and started dragging him behind me, continuing my fast-pace. The boy yelped in protest and tried to jerk his arms out of my hold. He tried to struggle to his feet, falling back in the mud from my continuous pull.

“Please,” he cried. “Please stop! You’re hurting me!”

I ignored his pitiful cries and continued walking, dragging him behind me. His cries became more and more desperate, soon he was yelling for someone to help him and he gasped for breath as he choked on his sobs. A part of me started to break, what am I doing? What am I doing to this poor kid? He didn’t ask for this. If he would only give me the amulet, he could leave.

I started to fear that someone or even one of the Worms would hear his cries. Darkness started to prohibit my vision anyway. I let go of the boy’s arms in the middle of the woods. I had hoped to find a meadow to sleep in, as one cannot know what is hiding among the trees, but this will have to do. The boy just dropped in the mud and curled up in a little ball, shaking from his tears and the cold and mud that had seeped through his clothes.

He didn’t look good. This will never do. I can’t let him die, not when I know next to nothing about the amulet. Not when I don’t know if he’s telling the truth or not. I sighed and grabbed his arms again, the boy didn’t fight me, but he let out a loud groan. I dragged him to a base of a tree that looked a little drier. I took off my pack and grabbed the bedroll off the straps and wrapped the boy in it. I frowned slightly, this is my only bedroll, so I’ll have to deal with the cold for the night.

I looked over the food we had left and knew it wasn’t enough to make it to the nearest town. I pulled out a single grain bar and shook the boy until I had his attention. He looked at me with his sorrowful, soulful green eyes and sniffled. I tried to not look at his face. Dragging him might have been a little harsh, but I had no choice. “Here,” I handed him the bar.

The boy looked at the bar like it would bite him and took his hand out the bedroll to grab it from my hands. “Th-thank you,” his teeth chattered.

“You’re welcome.”

The boy nearly swallowed the bar whole. I quickly gave him my canteen, afraid that he would choke.

He took a long drink before whipping his mouth. “Can I have another?”

“No.” I give myself credit for trying my best to say the word leveled and cool. Not cruel at all. I really have no grief over this kid. He just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. I don’t want to hurt him, I just don’t know what to do with him. “We don’t have enough. Somehow this food needs to last us long enough for us to reach the nearest village.”

“Oh. Okay. Are you going to eat something?”

My stomach growled. “I already had mine.” I turned on my heel and walked over to another tree. I placed my pack behind my head and leaned against the tree.

My legs were numb from the pain and my head had a sturdy pulse, the rain had soaked right through my uniform. I squeezed my eyes shut. I hate wishing this, but I wished we had Star. I would have gotten back by now. Of course, there’s always the risk of the stupid unicorn eating the boy. Though nothing is perfect in an imperfect world.

From where I sat I had a perfect view of the boy shivering against his tree. I tried to ignore the cold that was slowly seeping in me. I rolled up one of my shredded pant legs, trying to assess how bad the injury was. I hissed through my teeth when the fabric rubbed against my leg. Dried blood was caked on small scratches, the skin was black and blue. I rubbed my hand down the bruises, feeling for the bone. Everything, thankfully, seemed whole. It could’ve been much worse. Maybe I should be thankful that we don’t have a unicorn to ride right now. I checked the other leg and it was identical to the first.

I watched the boy fall asleep, his breathing slowing, and his shivers calmed. I took a long drink from the canteen, hoping it would take the edge off my hunger, and sat it back down on the ground with the lid unscrewed to collect more of the fresh rainwater. Each raindrop made a pitter-patter sound as it hit the metal. My head hurt so much and I longed to sleep, but I fear that the boy would try to run away from me. I have been unkind to him.

I needed him to trust me, I realized. Somehow I needed him to trust me enough that he would either give me the amulet or use it for me.

To Be Continued

Hunga with squirrels and birds.

Happy New Year’s

Happy New Year’s! 🎆 🎉 🥳 I thought that I would get this year started on the right foot by releasing the very first episode of this year! I hope that you enjoyed it! Hopefully this year will be filled with joy and happiness. God is with us, no matter the year and times we go through.

Shipwrecked on 2021

“Do not be anxious about anything,

but in everything by prayer and supplication

with thanksgiving let your requests

be made known to God.”

Philippians 4:6 ESV

Update 12/10/21: I released the Audio Drama Version of this episode that you can listen to up above!

Thank you for reading! I hope that you are enjoying the episodes as much as I am writing them! =D If you have any thoughts or questions be sure to comment below! See you next Friday with a brand new episode!

Enjoy the Adventure! =D
Grace M. Morris

Comment Policy

Comments should remain as clean as what’s in the blog post itself.
Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Published by Grace M. Morris

Grace M. Morris traveled into a story one time, and no one has been able to pull her back ever since. When she learned that she can create stories of her own she has been striving to write speculative stories with a Christian basis suitable for young adults.

2 thoughts on “Eye of the Panther S1 E5 Kindness for the Unkind

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started